Frequent Questions

What pollutants are regulated under the October 2005 Final Hazardous Waste Combustor MACT Rule?

The standards limited emissions of:

  • dioxins and furans,
  • mercury,
  • semivolatile metals (cadmium and lead),
  • low volatile metals (arsenic, beryllium, and chromium),
  • particulate matter, as a surrogate for non-mercury metal, hazardous air pollutants, including
    • antimony
    • manganese
    • selenium
    • nickel
    • cobalt
  • hydrogen chloride and chlorine gas, and
  • organic hazardous air pollutants.

For more information, visit the hazardous waste combustion web page.

Have more questions? Submit a request