Frequent Questions

How many sources are covered by the Hazardous Waste Combustion Emission Standards regulation?

This regulation covers about 232 hazardous waste combustion units at 172 facilities. Together these facilities burn about 3.3 million tons of hazardous waste annually (out of a total of 4 tons by all combustion facilities). The total of 232 units is comprised of: 

189 incinerators: 26 commercial and 163 non-commercial, on-site incinerators 
33 cement kilns
 10 aggregate kilns

For more information, see

Have more questions? Submit a request