Frequent Questions

What Clean Air Act hazardous air pollutants are regulated by the Hazardous Waste Combustion NESHAP?

The Hazardous Waste Combustion NESHAP limits emissions of the following Clean Air Act hazardous air pollutants (HAPs): chlorinated dioxins and furans, mercury, lead, cadmium, arsenic, beryllium, chromium, hydrochloric acid/chlorine gas, antimony, cobalt, manganese, nickel, selenium, and nondioxin and furan organic HAPs. For some of the above-listed HAPs, we chose to use surrogate emission limits. Specifically, antimony, cobalt, manganese, nickel and selenium emissions are controlled through a surrogate particulate matter standard; nondioxin and furan organic HAP emissions are controlled through surrogate carbon monoxide, hydrocarbon, and destruction and removal efficiency standards.

For more information, see
Have more questions? Submit a request